Sexual Desire In Christ

Men many times fall for the illusion that they need sex, and that they simply can not go long without it.

This is true. For after a few days of no sex it becomes easier to lust and have fantasies as our sexual hunger builds up again but this is because our focus is on ourselves.

I am also guilty of telling the exact same thing to my wife.
We think our ability to control ourselves becomes more difficult the more we go without sex but this is an illusion.

So how do I know this?
Because when I am totally connected to Christ, when I can feel his presence within me then all my sexual desires vanish.

Why? Because it becomes all about him and not me.
In this state of mind I no longer desire to satisfy me but now seek to satisfy him by obedience, prayer, love and being in a way now intimate with him.

I become a servant no longer the one wanting to be served.
And if we do have sex then it’s still in that same state of mind as a servant of Christ. It becomes a special moment in our ability to serve as God would want us to serve.

My goal is not my satisfaction but my wives satisfaction.

In this state of mind, sex is a tool created by God to build sexual satisfaction and intimacy. To build love between a husband and wife. Our focus is our partner not us.

Too many men not connected to Christ seem to think sex is all about themselves. Their goal is to make sure they get satisfied and if they have to then they can try to satisfy their wives.

It’s a self focus, self worship ideology based on the illusion that a man must be satisfied to control his desires. Truth is he can never control his desires outside of Christ. He will always be falling and failing in his illusion.

Only when he is in Christ will his desires be in control because it’s Christ who controls them not him.

Rick Rodriguez
10-8-16

Leave a Reply

